The 60th Community Pride Competition


The 60th Community Pride Competition organised by Cheshire Community Action was celebrated on 13th October at Sandbach Town Hall (funded by Cheshire East Council) in the presence of a large gathering of Civic Leaders including the Lord Lieutenant of Cheshire, High Sheriff of Cheshire, Parish Councillors, Competition Judges and enthusiasts who had travelled from all parts of the County.

The Overall Championship Award was presented to Crowton as Best Kept Village. Crowton is a well deserved winner with a very strong community. It is an active community with many local volunteers who all work hard to make it a vibrant place to live, work and visit.

Ian Cotton of ESSAR OIL UK, sponsor of the Competition, presented a plaque and cheque to the winner. Following the event Mr Cotton said: “It is fantastic to see the continued enthusiasm from volunteers across Cheshire who are striving to maintain and enhance their villages and towns to make them more vibrant and attractive for residents and visitors”.

The Cheshire Community Spirit Award was presented to Church Minshull which has seen an lots of activity by local people to improve the area in recent years. Community Spirit Runner Up was Tattenhall, and Highly Commended were Hatton and Rushton.

Rostherne won the Community Safety Award, which is sponsored by Cheshire Constabulary and a plaque with a cheque for £250 was presented by Assistant Chief Constable, Sarah Boycott.

Professor Tim O’Brien, Assistant Director of Jodrell Bank Observatory, also gave an illuminating talk on the work of the Observatory.

The Little Gem Award has proved very popular.  It covers any area or artefact in the village, which shows special care and attention.  Twenty-five certificates were awarded.

This year’s newest award was the Cheshire Rural Women’s Award which went to Bobbin Lee from Tilston for her outstanding contribution to her local community.

The Best Community Website was won by Hatton, Joint Runners Up Bollington & Tarvin. The Best Community Newsletter was won by Wincham, Runner Up Rainow, Highly Commended Bollington & Helsby.

Mr Cotton presented the ESSAR UK Awards in the seven population categories.  These were Hatton, Crowton, Tilston, Christleton, Willaston (Nantwich), Grappenhall & Thelwall, Sandbach.

Willaston (Nantwich) received the award for the most improved village in the past year.

Three further competitions were – Best Community Initiative was won by Frodsham, with Highly Commended awards going to Holmes Chapel & Sandbach.

The Working with Young People Award went to Rushton.

THE Community Champion Award went to Joe Robinson of Pickmere.  

The Les George OBE Award was won by Eaton Play Zone.

The Competition exemplifies the community spirit in all the villages.  It demonstrates and emphasises just how much voluntary work is undertaken to keep Cheshire a vibrant County.  The competition encourages villages to improve every aspect of village life which is under threat in so many different ways.

This Competition would not be possible without the dedication of the volunteer judges, the sponsorship by ESSAR and the many months of preparation by the staff team at Cheshire Community Action.